Klaipėda and top 5 visiting places

Klaipėda – for the city and for the world…

Klaipėda is the oldest city in Lithuania founded in 1252, when the Livonian Order built Memelburg Castle in the place where the Curonian lagoon meets the Baltic Sea.
The city founders signed an agreement of the construction of both Memelburg castle and the city; the founders had a clear vision of spreading the faith and becoming an important defensive fort. They wanted well-beeing for the citizens and wished the city „ great happiness and salvation”. Over time, numerous chronicles narrated the attacks by foreign forces and fierce battles for the Memel castle, the main fortress of the city, which was later renamed Klaipėda.
Klaipėda is a city of water. The poetess Agnes Megel called it „A shining water land”. Flowing through the city like a stream of life, the windruffled River Dangė encourages individuality and gives strength to the citizens. The Curonian lagoon and the Baltic Sea open roads to the world.
Founded by the Livonian order, Klaipėda boasts a rich history. In 14th century, the Order transferred the city to the German Order. Later Klaipėda became a Prussian city and was famous as the strongest fortress of the country. During the Napoleonic period, the city became the temporary capital of Prusssia; this was an exceptional period of the city’s history. In 1809, the October Edict, which abolished serfdom in Prussia, was signed in Klaipėda, and significant country reforms were initated.

In 1923, Klaipėda became a part of the Republic of Lithuania. Soon afterwards, however, life in the city was distrupted by World War II. In the postward period, Klaipėda became a lost city without any inhabitants. Less than a tenth of the population remained. Later, the time has come for the new residents to shape the city.
Today Klaipėda is a beautiful, attractive, hospitable city, open to the world and to the people.


The Maritime Museum of Lithuania

he Maritime Museum of Lithuania is a short ferry ride from Klaipėda across the bay. It is located at the northernmost end of the Curonian Spit, called Kopgalis. The former defense fortress was reconstructed in 1979 and soon after, the Maritime museum was opened. Visitors may explore underwater life, learn about seals, penguins, colourful tropical sea fish, see dolphins and California sea lions’ daily shows. A historical exhibit of Lithuanian navigation is set up in casemates below the castle ramparts.

Theatre Square

Theatre Square is a representative place of the city. It’s hard to believe that in the 17th century it was covered with water which was surrounding the castle and that by the eastern side of the square old Danė river was flowing. Since 19th century there was a theatre in which many famous artists, as Richard Wagner, have performed. The main adornment of the Theatre square is a statue that was built in 1912 in memory of the famous poet who was born in Klaipėda and was Konigsberg University’s professor S.Dach. The statue is called “Anna from Tharau” who was the main character of most famous poem which later was turned into the song.

Sea Gates

two parallel one kilometer long breakwaters. The first construction of breakwaters started in the 18th century, the aim was to protect port from drifting sand of the Curonian Spit. At the moment the northern and southern breakwaters are citizens and visitors’ favourite place for watching sunsets.

Klaipėda sculptures and monuments route.

The route about 5 kilometers long, which consists of 37 various monuments and sculptures. The most popular sculptures – R.Midvikis “The cat with the face of a gentleman”, S.Jurkus and S.Plotnikovas “Magic Mouse” and the impressive sculpture “Black ghost”.

Castle Museum

Explore the development of the castle and the town as it is presented in authentic dating back to 16-18th underground chambers. The exhibit displays city stamps, documents, restored 17th century traditional clothing, and archaeological treasures which were found in the castle ruins and the old town. You will also find the Renaissance symbol of Klaipėda, a mid-16th century golden ring with a diamond, which was discovered on the castle grounds.